For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Be a blessing

on December 16, 2016

Proverbs 19:17 Whoever is generous to the poor lends to the LORD, and he will repay him for his deed.

Blessing others doesn’t have to make a big dent in your day or your pocketbook. I have been guilty of thinking things like:

  • If I had more time, I’d…
  • If I won the lottery, I’d…
  • If I can just pay off this bill, I’ll…

Each of those statements means I am choosing NOT to trust God with my finances, my time or my generosity.

I admit, I waffle on this so stinking much, it makes me crazy. I will feel the nudge to help someone and ignore it because I need to go to the grocery store and buy food for my own family. Which means I am not trusting that God is already abundantly providing for our needs.

But then, we will pull names off the giving tree at church and be so blessed by the opportunity to help those in need at Christmas.

See, waffling.

The Bible is crystal clear, we are to be generous. With our time, talents and treasures. The irony is that the Bible not only specifies what we are to do, it specifies that the Lord blesses those who bless others!

Where I get tripped up is that I often equate that to helping financially. That can be the case, but it doesn’t always have to be. Making homemade gifts for people is an inexpensive, thoughtful way of blessing them. So is volunteering for things like running errands, taking kids places, cleaning, etc. These things don’t require a lot of effort, but the results can be quite impactful.

This morning, in line at the store, I felt the nudge to bless the person in front of me because they are in an often thankless and underappreciated profession . Again, the internal wrestling match went on. But this time, I listened to God. It didn’t require a lot of money, but it required a little boldness. He provided it. Honestly, I don’t write this in hopes of a return blessing. I share it to be honest. Often, making the effort to offer to do things for others is uncomfortable. But God sees our hearts and when He ordains it, it is received.

This morning, I know it made someone’s day brighter and made them feel appreciated for what they do. That gives me more blessing than they know.

Maybe if we all carry out a little random act of kindness, the world will be a whole lot brighter this Christmas. Are you with me?

 

 

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

