For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

An Angel in the Night

on December 16, 2015

“May the Lord answer you when you are in distress; may the name of the God of Jacob protect you.
May he send you help from the sanctuary and grant you support from Zion.” Psalm 20:1-2 NIV

The other night, my son got food stuck in his esophagus. He could breathe, but he couldn’t get the food to go down and he couldn’t eat or drink anything. Frantic, I posted on Facebook, hoping someone might have a suggestion that would work, but to no avail. After trying everything we could think of, we headed to the emergency room. It was 9:30 p.m.

As we sat in the ER, my phone was buzzing with well wishes and prayers in response to my post. I updated to let those praying know that we were being sent to the Children’s Hospital 30 miles away to have a scope done to remove the food – it had to be done in surgery. I was scared and feeling quite alone. I kept praying for calm and peace – I didn’t want my son to get more upset than he already was.

Then, all of a sudden, my messenger app dinged. I read these words: “Patti, I’m a trauma/ICU nurse. I’m awake and at work, so feel free to PM me if you have questions or concerns. I assist with conscious sedation on kids for things like this all the time.”

This note was from a woman I barely know, I’ve seen her in person only a couple of times. We are both part of a team of nearly 300 people who raise money and run races to help fight human trafficking. Oh, and she lives 2,000 miles away and two time zones ahead. So it was the middle of the night where she was.

I needed an angel to keep me calm, and God sent me one! We went on to text back and forth for the hours we were in the hospital. Can I tell you how very empty and alone it was in that place? When they took my son into surgery, I was brought to a waiting area that was huge, but completely empty except for me. There weren’t many lights on, so I found a spot that had the most light I could find and sat down. It was 2 a.m. The hospital cafeteria wasn’t even open! I sat there and prayed, reading the Bible on the app on my phone. This verse in the Psalms brought me peace.

Every so often, I would get another message from my friend. Thanks to her, I had communication and encouragement, along with prayers, to sustain me while my son was in surgery.

What a tremendous comfort that was! Once again, God showed me that He has his hand in all aspects of my life. He put us together and knew that in that situation, she would be willing to go above and beyond the call to help someone in need, me. I greatly appreciated it! I can also say that I had a tremendous sense of peace during the procedure. And, my son came out the ordeal just fine, and is doing much better.

He cares. He listens. He answers.

Praise God.

 

 

One response to “An Angel in the Night

  1. Jeannie Hastings says:

    Good Morning Patti! I read this when it happened and am reading it again as I delete items off my phone. God is so good, his mercy endures forever. Praising him today for what he did, caring for Trevor and keeping you under his wings while you sat alone in the hospital. The wonders of his presence is so relaxing refreshing and amazing. I thank God today for you and your witness to others, your love for Jesus and people you are in contact with. I am so glad Trevor is alright and home. What a wonderful Savior we know! Thank you for your family Christmas letter. Always a joy to read!
    Hugs n love,
    Jeannie

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

