For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Like a rose

on October 29, 2015

The nights are getting chilly. Where I live, temperatures are starting to drop and soon, snow will be falling as winter is ushered in. I love fall. The air is crisp, the colors are brilliant and yet, it isn’t too cold.

This time of year, the roses in my garden are in bloom. They are vibrant and beautiful. So, when we had our first frost warning of the season the other night, I went out to cover them, hoping to preserve them a bit longer. There was a bud on one of the stems. I debated about cutting it to bring it in and put in a vase. The edges were a little dark and I wondered if it would even bloom inside. I figured, why not, and clipped it. I put it in my little bud vase at the kitchen sink.

To my delight, that little bud not only bloomed, but it released an incredible fragrance as well. It was just stunning. When it opened, those dark, dry edges were no longer visible and in fact, I almost forgot they were ever there in the first place.

roseAs I was admiring the beauty of that little rose, I felt God’s whisper. “You’re like that rose.”

It’s easy to focus on our flaws, on those dark edges and dry spots that we’d like to get rid of. I can easily get trapped in the snare by the enemy to believe that because of my flaws, I’m of no use for God. In fact, that is exactly what the enemy would want us to believe. Because then he wins. We miss out on the gift of blessing others and bringing glory to God.

Let me remind (me and) you, that this is not true. God doesn’t see that when He looks at us. In fact, God can use our flaws and rough spots for His glory. When He looks at us, He sees His son or daughter. We are His creation and He doesn’t make mistakes.

“Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it.” (Psalm 139:14 NLT)

There is great beauty and value in each of us. Like a rose, we can blossom and be a fragrant gift to others, bringing glory to the One who created us.

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

