For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Divine Protection

on July 29, 2015

I could have died today. Heading to work, traveling in the center lane on the highway, a semi on my right suddenly came over without any warning. To my left, a pickup truck. Behind me, a van. I was completely helpless and boxed in with nowhere to go. Somehow, NONE of them hit me. In a matter of a split second, I could have been crushed in a tangled mess of metal and concrete, traveling 75 miles an hour. To be completely honest, I can’t logically understand how I wasn’t.

Logically.

But spiritually, I can see it as plain as day.

The only explanation that makes any sense is that God sent the angels to protect me. Simple as that. Psalm 91:11-16 says:

“For he will command his angels concerning you to guard you in all your ways; they will lift you up in their hands, so that you will not strike your foot against a stone. You will tread on the lion and the cobra; you will trample the great lion and the serpent. ‘Because he loves me,’ says the Lord, ‘I will rescue him; I will protect him, for he acknowledges my name. He will call on me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble, I will deliver him and honor him. With long life I will satisfy him and show him my salvation.”

God has told me that there is something He has planned for me. Something I do not yet know about. Something, obviously, the enemy is aware of and has him shaken. Because the enemy is doing everything he can to prevent it. Well, today, God sent His angels to lift me up in their hands and protect me, and I am grateful.

God has also reminded me that He has me securely held in His palm. He has said, “never have fear because nothing can take you out unless I say so.” And today, He said no.

Seeing the world in the natural can be a frightening, unnerving experience. There are unexplainable happenings that can rip your heart open and shake you to the core. I’ve seen this just this week.  We can crumble under the weight of the things of this world, or we can stand firm in our faith.

I have to choose faith. When the world doesn’t make sense, I have to raise my eyes upward and ask God for peace. When grief grabs a hold of your very core, He is the only one who can bring comfort. When it seems like everything is falling apart, He comes alongside to whisper, “I’m here. I’ve got you.”

Why does He choose to do this? Why did He spare me today? Love.

He. Loves. Us. That. Much.

It’s as simple and complex as that.

3 responses to “Divine Protection

  1. kapri20 says:

    Dear Patti, I was enjoying your post until the end when you wrote ‘Why does he spare us? …Love… You said at the start that angelic protection was sent your way because you have things yet to achieve. That made perfect sense. To say that in an unqualified way, to connect being spared with God’s love is to connect not being spared with less of God’s love – this clearly does not make sense in the grand scheme of things. God’s love may involve us being spared and may not… as many devoted Christians can attest.  I have a feeling there is a missing piece in this reflection.  Kathryn

    From: For Such A Time As This To: katapmail-contact@yahoo.co.uk Sent: Thursday, 30 July 2015, 3:05 Subject: [New post] Divine Protection #yiv6966635147 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv6966635147 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv6966635147 a.yiv6966635147primaryactionlink:link, #yiv6966635147 a.yiv6966635147primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv6966635147 a.yiv6966635147primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv6966635147 a.yiv6966635147primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv6966635147 WordPress.com | pattihazlett posted: “I could have died today. Heading to work, traveling in the center lane on the highway, a semi on my right suddenly came over without any warning. To my left, a pickup truck. Behind me, a van. I was completely helpless and boxed in with nowhere to go. Some” | |

    • pattihazlett says:

      Thank you for reading and commenting. I’m sorry if my choice of words made it seem like I believe the only time God shows His love is when He spares us. That’s absolutely not the case. Perhaps I should have said “why did He choose to spare me in this instance.” Jesus’ own words tell me that there will be suffering, and this I have experienced as well. And, I can look back at it and know that this, too, was God showing His love. What I did not write in this post is that all day long, I wrestled with a “why” question. Just this week, God chose to take home a dear friend’s grandchild and I asked Him why that had to happen and yet, I was spared. I’ll never understand, on this side of eternity, why God shows His love in all the ways He does. I’m definitely not an expert. I am journaling through my limited lens. Thankfully, He is greater and His ways are higher. Thank you for helping me think further.

  2. Ilene says:

    I’m just thankful that you are safe and this was a beautiful post. You are so good at putting into life lessons the scriptures we are given.

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

