For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Victory in Advance

on March 6, 2015

“When Gideon heard the dream and its interpretation, he bowed down and worshiped. He returned to the camp of Israel and called out, ‘Get up! The Lord has given the Midianite camp into your hands.’ ” Judges 7:15

I have a Christian friend whose life looks radically different than just about everyone else either of us knows. She walks with a faith that is clear to anyone who encounters her.

She has lived through, and is still in the middle of, some of the most difficult life circumstances imaginable. Any one of the obstacles she has faced in the time I’ve known her would have broken me, yet she exudes a joy that is intoxicating.

How does she do it?

victoryShe fully, completely, wholeheartedly believes the Bible. With every fiber of her being, she trusts God is in control of every single aspect of her life. Just because it doesn’t look like she would want or like, doesn’t mean it isn’t the hand of God on her.

That is an incredibly challenging concept for me.

In Bible study, we discussed a survey we heard about. A very low percentage of professed Christians said they believed the Bible was literal truth. That everything in it is true and from God. How is that possible, we asked? If you say you are a believer, then don’t you believe the Bible?

On the surface, I reasoned during our talk, yes. How can they say that? But God got a hold of me and brought my friend to mind. Certainly, our walks are different, but am I really living every day like I believe the Bible to be completely true?

Perhaps not. Probably not.

Because, I can get caught up listening to those distractions and voices that challenge my faith. I can let the circumstances of life become more powerful than my belief.  I can get snared into believing that my fight is with the one on front of me, or the issue at hand, rather than the spiritual battle that it truly is. I can convince myself that I have to live life and face things in my own strength, rather than wait on God.

So, what do we do?

The answer, though simple, is still difficult. Seek God, ask Him for direction, and stand on faith. Two lessons I learned in Bible study were to begin the battle on your knees and to approach battles with the perspective of victory. That is, pray first.  Then, approach the battle believing in advance, that God has won already. He is on the other side of the victory holding out His hand to me, urging me to step forward in faith and trust Him.

There are true stories of this in the Bible. We are studying Gideon. His is a wonderful example of this fact.

How might our lives look if we started living in the full faith and trust in the Bible, and it’s Author? I suspect a lot like my friend’s. I say it’s worth it.

3 responses to “Victory in Advance

  1. Leann says:

    Patti,

    I’m so thankful I took the time to read this today– of all days. A very good friend of mine, who lives out of state, is facing a battle within her family. Yesterday I felt The Lord urging me to reach out to her for specifics so as to pray specifically. She shared her story with me and through the miles I was able to pray for her and the situation. All this to say — The Lord provided the words, the same words you shared today in your blog. To pray knowing His Almighty power is already present and working. Not an easy task when we are in the midst of our battles. I share this not to bring any glory to myself but to bless you and encourage others — God is always with us working in ways we don’t even know or always see.
    I’ll be forwarding your blog to her — blessings!!

    • pattihazlett says:

      Thank you! I am so glad you were blessed and I love how God uses things for His glory. I pray your friend finds courage and strength in the midst of her situation. Blessings!

  2. Angie says:

    Truly blessed to have read this. Thank u for writing it!! God bless u;0)

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

