For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Get BEHIND me!

on January 21, 2015

Two miles in to my twelve mile training run, my shins were on fire. I need new shoes, badly. I bought some a couple weeks ago, and even though I got fitted and ran in them on the treadmill at the store, they were a disaster. The first time I wore them for a run, I had to take them off because I was almost in tears. So, I’ve been wearing my worn out old shoes a bit longer until I can exchange them.

The day was glorious. It was the perfect temperature, the sun was shining and I hadn’t been able to run outside in weeks. I was so excited to breathe in fresh air and pray during my run.

Then my shins started making noise. It was almost as if the enemy was in my head telling me I’d be better off if I quit. “Just stop,” he’d whisper as I ached through another step. “No one will know, it’s no big deal, just give up.”

If there were any people around, they would have heard me because at that moment I said as loud as I could, “get BEHIND me Satan!” Quitting wasn’t an option. There’s a half-marathon in my very near future and I’m not backing off now. So, I stopped. I stretched as best I could. And, most importantly, I prayed. “Jesus, I need you. I need you to relieve the pain and give me your strength to finish this run. I need you to shut him up (the enemy). I ask this in your name, amen.”

I stretched again and started jogging. You know what? The pain subsided. I wondered how long it would last. Well, pretty soon I hit 4 miles, then 6, then 8, then 10. At that point, I had victory. Jesus was giving me everything I needed to finish and finish strong.

IMG_2876The last two miles weren’t a breeze, but I felt good, my legs held up and I knew He was with me.

I know that God is with me every step of the way. When I struggle, it isn’t because He’s not there, it’s because I’m not looking to Him for all that I need.  I can be assured of that promise. The Bible makes it perfectly clear:

“The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms. He will drive out your enemies before you, saying, ‘Destroy them!” Deuteronomy 33:27 (NIV)

There isn’t anything He can’t handle. I need to remember that and trust Him. He reminded me of it in my moment of need. And for that, I am thankful.

One response to “Get BEHIND me!

  1. Deb Larrabee says:

    Amen sister!!

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

