For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Just because I can doesn’t mean I should

on December 18, 2014

Don’t you remember your parents saying things like that to you when you were growing up? I know I do.

In a conversation, the subject came up about a possible financial investment. A potentially lucrative opportunity exists. And, though, where I live it is a legal prospect, I personally have a moral and ethical issue with it. I tried to politely express that I had no interest in considering the option. Of course, that led to a discussion of why I felt that way and why I wouldn’t entertain the idea of making a small investment for the possibility of a huge return. First Corinthians 10:23 came to mind. It says:

You say, ‘I am allowed to do anything’—but not everything is good for you. You say, ‘I am allowed to do anything’—but not everything is beneficial.” (NLT)

Isn’t that the case with a lot of things in life? Just because something is deemed legal and allowable does not mean that it is always the best thing, especially for me as a Christian.

Things that are allowed, but too much of makes a mess either physically, spiritually, financially, etc.:

  • Food
  • Spending
  • Watching TV/movies
  • Friendships
  • Social Media
  • Alcohol

The list could go on and on. Each, in and of itself, isn’t necessarily bad. But, out of control, or in a context that does not honor God, will take us down a path of destruction.

As a Christian, it is my privilege to live a life that seeks to bring glory to God. It isn’t easy and it doesn’t always happen. But, when I have choices, about where I spend my time, talent, money or otherwise, I need to first ask the question: “does this line up with what I know about God and His plans for me?”

There are so many competing interests out there, each one clamoring for our attention. It can be draining to try and balance it all, which gets us to a point of weakness. That’s when we can slip and make choices or decisions that are not God-honoring.

We must hold tightly to the truth of His word, using it as a measuring stick with which to gauge decisions, actions and choices. If, as Christians, we strive to do this, just think how different things might be?

2 responses to “Just because I can doesn’t mean I should

  1. Angie says:

    I think this is especially difficult with relation to Chkd rearing. My husband and I have very different ideas about what our children are allowed to watch on tv. This can sometimes b a source of heated discussion! We are both Christians and raising our children in a CHRIST-filled church and home. I know the LORD will definitely guide us. I’m just not looking forward to the day when they are pg 13 age…LORD have mercy!

  2. Dan says:

    Patti, such a timely topic in such a moral relativistic society we live in. This topic really hits home for me. Your sentence; “…But, out of control, or in a context that does not honor God, will take us down a path of destruction.”, says it ALL! God love you for writing about this! Dan

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

