For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Running for those who are not free to run. Yet.

on November 3, 2014

“In the same way that you gave me a mission in the world, I give them a mission in the world.” (John 17:18 MSG)

It’s definitely not about me.

In the past two years, I’ve run a half-marathon and a 15K (9.3 miles). On Feb, 22, 2015, I will be again running a half-marathon.

To be completely honest, it isn’t about being a runner, or getting in shape, or even striving for the accomplishments. None of which are bad, they just aren’t my main focus.

I do it to give a voice to someone who doesn’t have one. At least not yet.

10517480_10203799564259936_6736354207024247493_nTraining for this race takes months. I live in Colorado, so I will be training during the coldest time of the year. None of that matters when I think about why I do this and who I do this for. It’s about raising awareness and money to help those trapped in the unspeakable condition of human slavery. You read that right. Slavery.

Today, there are more than 29 million slaves in the world. TODAY. That is more than at any time in history. Children, as young as 1 year-old forced into sexual slavery. It’s disgusting and sickening. When I heard stories of those trapped in the bondage of human trafficking, I couldn’t sit by doing nothing. I joined a group called Team Freedom. Together, we raise money for an organization called Hope for Justice, which helps with rescue and recovery for those trapped in slavery. With our help, they are making a difference.

While the stories of the bondage are mind-boggling and stomach-turning, the stories of recovery and redemption are like sunshine bursting through dark clouds, bright and stunning.

Jesus didn’t offer me salvation to sit with it on a shelf and wait to go to Heaven. He called me to go out into this broken world and make a difference. To get involved. To step outside my comfort zone and do something, anything, whatever it is that He leads me to do.

He made it abundantly clear this was a cause, a team that I needed to be involved with. Hearing the stories of those rescued broke my heart and left me sobbing. I knew I had to run. For them. For others. This is part of the work He has called me to do here on Earth. It is, to use Jesus’ words, my mission.

So, as I commit to training for the half-marathon in February 2015, I ask you to consider helping me reach my fundraising goal of $750. Anything helps and it’s an easy process. Just visit my fundraising site here.

God has given me this mission. And I trust that He will equip that mission by keeping me healthy for training and bringing in donations. Saying “yes” is the first step. I’ve said “yes,” will you?

5 responses to “Running for those who are not free to run. Yet.

  1. Trish Trout says:

    this makes my heart happy! Cant wait till February!

  2. Heidi Burk says:

    “It is our duty and our privilege to exhaust our lives for Jesus. We are not to be living specimens of men in fine preservation, but living sacrifices, whose lot is to be consumed” Charles Spurgen
    Patti I love your heart for the Lord, for the lost and for those hurting. Keep on sister!

  3. Dolores Holland says:

    I am so PROUD to be the aunt and Godmother of such an amazing young woman and I say YES!
    Good luck and God Bless you for all you do to make this world a better place. I love you very much.

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

