For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Grandpa’s Roses

on October 13, 2014

“…because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” Romans 10:9 (ESV)
I’ve spent a lot of time praying for family members. I pray for their salvation. I pray that God will move in their hearts to the point that they respond. I pray that they will experience God like I did more than a decade ago.

That they will know His grace and feel His love. That peace will radiate in them in such a way that can only be from God.
Because before that moment in my own life, I know that I wasn’t saved. I know that had one of the many poor choices I made in my life resulted in my death, I would have been separated from Jesus and left to suffer eternal damnation.

I desperately don’t want that to be the case for my friends and loved ones. That’s one of the main reasons I beg God to soften their hearts to His true redemption – not a religious-focused, works-based lifestyle that leads to suffering.
One of the people I often wondered about was my Grandfather. He was a wonderful man. He loved his family and lived a full life. And I know he loved going to church. No one sang “Angels We Have Heard on High” at Christmas louder than my Grandpa!

He also loved to garden. He would spend hours tending to his vegetable garden, his gardenias and especially, his roses. When they were blooming, their yard smelled amazing.

I was a freshman in collegIMG_2092e in October of 1985. On that early morning, one of my dorm-mates was pounding on my door trying to wake me up. My dad was on the phone telling me Grandpa had fallen asleep and never woke up. It was a devastating loss because we were very close to him and my Grandma.

I was out in my own wanna-be garden over the weekend and noticed two beautiful roses amid the neglected lot. I clipped them and put them in a bud vase to enjoy them inside. The date didn’t dawn on me, I was just enjoying them.

Then, this morning, I remembered the date – that today was the anniversary of his passing. When I saw those roses in my kitchen window, I felt that peace. God was smiling. He was assuring me that Grandpa is, indeed, with Him. What a comfort!

That turns my prayer to others. Lord, I pray for assurance for them as well!

2 responses to “Grandpa’s Roses

  1. C.J. Penn says:

    Beautiful story… thank you. Like you, I have many loved ones I pray for.

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

