For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

A new creation

on August 29, 2014

“Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” 2 Corinthians 5:17 (NIV)

 “Their house is so pretty,” my daughter declared as we pulled up to it. It certainly was. A well-kept yard in a nice neighborhood with homes much bigger than ours. Our house, which from the outside, leaves a bit to be desired. We’ve lived there ten years. Until very recently, I was unemployed for a span of three years, which meant no money for upkeep. It desperately needs a paint job. Our hectic schedule has resulted in a somewhat neglected yard. The mulch we put in a few years ago is gone.

You get the picture.

The outside image used to be my focus. It mattered more what things appeared like than what they really were. Appearances. Perceptions. On the outside, it appeared that I had it all together when what was inside was a mess.

That pretty house had a secret that made my heart ache. The family that lives there is crumbling. Separation and likely divorce are in the air. A family in turmoil.

By contrast, we are thriving. My husband and I will soon celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Our kids are pretty well-adjusted teenagers who actually like their parents. Most important, we love Jesus.

It hasn’t been an easy road, but our hearts have been changed. He promises that when we accept Him into our hearts, we are a new creation. New! We are not the old us. The person I was before my salvation no longer exists. That’s His promise.

Choosing to live that new life is what makes me different. Choosing not to fall into old traps. Choosing not to be more concerned about the exterior of my house – as I was before ­– and being more focused on what’s happening on the inside, in my heart. Transformation. There’s no other way to describe it. He has changed me.

I can’t do it alone. I need Jesus. Every. Single. Moment. Every. Single. Day. That’s the only way to live.

 

One response to “A new creation

  1. Deb says:

    I miss our visits already!!! May God bless your day abundantly!

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

