For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

In an instant

on July 30, 2014

It happened so fast.

As I checked my rear-view mirror, I saw the SUV barreling at me at a speed much higher than it should be traveling. Traffic on the highway was coming to a grinding halt, a typical rush hour in the morning. Somehow, the vehicle was splitting between my lane and the one to my left. In an instant, it was in my field of vision and then BAM! It smacked the car on my left, which had been scrambling to try and avoid the accident.

As the vehicles collided, the back end of the SUV swerved into my lane. There was nowhere to go. I braced for impact and prayed.

Somehow, nothing happened.

I was spared. Honestly, I don’t know how I didn’t get hit. It was that close.

Shaking, I tried to regain my composure and focus on driving. I prayed for the people in the accident. I thanked God for protecting me. And I whispered, “okay, you’ve got my attention.”

Often, we trudge through life, wondering if He’s really there. Trust me, He is. Facing battles, challenges and the trials of life can wear you down. But, if you’re able to fix your gaze on Him, it’s amazing how your perspective can change.

Jesus is willing and able to show up in every, and any circumstance. How often do we go through a day and forget to talk to him even once? Sadly, more often than I’d like. Definitely more often than He’d like. Jesus wants to walk alongside us, help us, strengthen us, protect us, comfort us. But, how often do we try to go it alone?

Psalm 34:7 says “The angel of the Lord encamps around those who fear him, and he delivers them.” (NIV)

Encamp. He isn’t just going to fly in and out of a situation. He’s there for the long haul. Isn’t that comforting?

No matter what it is you are facing, the Lord is ready to help. His comfort is real. His protection is trustworthy. He is able.

Will you let him in?

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

