For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Do you know that you know that you know?

on June 11, 2014

“You can enter God’s Kingdom only through the narrow gate. The highway to hell is broad, and its gate is wide for the many who choose that way. But the gateway to life is very narrow and the road is difficult, and only a few ever find it.” Matthew 7:13-14

Just for giggles, I was answering one of those online quizzes to determine “my purpose.” One of the questions was “what is your view of religion?” It struck a chord in me.

I grew up in “religion.” As a kid, I was taught all the right actions and prayers and “performed” on command. But nothing ever really sunk into my soul. It was like I was acting a part in a play. The performance was good, but there was no lasting impact. I went in, I delivered my lines and I left.

When I left “religion” in my 30s, I went seeking. Honestly, I was looking to fill a void that I could tell existed, I just couldn’t put my finger on what it was. I can now. That void was a God-shaped hole in my heart. Something that no religion – no matter which one it was – could ever fill. Because it isn’t about religion with God, it’s about relationship.

God isn’t looking for actors. He wants a fully committed, all-in child. He wants someone to say “yes, Lord” to whatever leading He chooses. It’s not always comfortable – in fact, oftentimes it’s really uncomfortable. It isn’t easy – if it were, Jesus wouldn’t have told us the path to Heaven is through the narrow gate (Matthew 7:13). It isn’t for everyone – though God’s desire is for everyone to accept His gift of complete forgiveness and eternal salvation (1 Timothy 2:3-4) – but our free will means that we have a choice in the matter. Some will choose His way. Some won’t. Some think they have (perhaps those trapped in “religion?”).

For me, I needed to know that I know that I know where I am going when I die! The decision of total surrender to His will means I turn from my past, accept that His plans for my life are perhaps not what I would script, and live a life that is led and directed by Him. My job? Seek Him above all else. Love Him and serve others.

It’s a simple mission. But not one for the faint of heart. The challenges are many. The difference between facing challenges now, though, is that I don’t face them alone. I always know that He is with me, holding me up, giving me strength. I am learning more and more how to trust and tap into His strength versus my own.

It is no longer a part that I am playing. It is who I am and whose I am.

Do you know that you know that you know?

 

One response to “Do you know that you know that you know?

  1. Deb says:

    Thanks for sharing the “truth”. You blessed my day.

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

