For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

This could save your life!

on May 20, 2014

“If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” Romans 10:9

Everyone who knows me knows that I love me some social media. It’s a great way to keep up with friends and family who are spread all too far over the map.

I don’t think I need to say this, but it also has some pretty big downsides to it as well. It is way too easy to fall into the trap of it nearly taking over everything else (confession: I HAVE had my face in the phone at the dinner table – and I regret it). It can also lend a bit too much importance on mundane things in our everyday lives that really have no value or lasting benefit (c’mon, think about it, is it really necessary to post those snarky e-cards or cute animal sayings all the time? Again, I’m guilty.)

There are times though, when using your social media channels can have real impact. Often, my feed is filled with great Scripture, solid insight and beneficial truths. I love it when a friend posts something and it just hits right at the core of some issue I’m working through. I know that is God showing up when and where I need Him.

I have to wonder, how often though do we see that a friend has posted something “Biblical” and our eyes glaze over. I know there are people who read my posts and sometimes do just that. I’m sure people have stopped following me or “unfriended” me because they think I am too overboard and “out there” with my faith.

Let me challenge Imagethat by saying this: there is NOTHING more important than where YOU will spend eternity. Have you ever really stopped to think about that? We are all going to die. The question is, where will we go when we do? I believe with every fiber of my being that the ONLY place to spend it is with God.

Guess what? We won’t have the option of choosing Him once we’re gone. We only have that opportunity now, while He is granting us breath each day. That, my friends, is why I spend so much time in whatever capacity I have – whether it’s on social media, in conversation, at work, or however – to tout that message. Please don’t sell yourself short. Don’t waste the only chance you have to guarantee your salvation for all eternity.

Your works (think: I’m a good person, I pray, I do the right thing, I help people, I’m not “that” bad, etc.) won’t save you. What you do and how you act/treat others ought to be a byproduct of the overflow of love in your heart that is a gift from the Holy Spirit.

The only thing that can save us is coming to the realization that we are 1) sinners in need of a Savior, 2) recognizing that Jesus Christ came to this Earth to DIE in our place for the forgiveness of our sins and 3) confess that sin and acceptance of His gift before God and before man. It is a simple, but extraordinarily powerful prayer to pray. It comes from the heart and is life-changing.

That is what happened in my life. I have seen amazing changes in the decade I have been saved. That is why I use my platform to tell others. God is all-powerful and loving. His grace has radically changed my life.

Please don’t waste another minute before you consider making a decision. You may not have time.

 

2 responses to “This could save your life!

  1. Angie says:

    I love ur blog!! Awesome. Thank u!!

  2. pattihazlett says:

    Thank you so much! Glad you are blessed by it!

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

