For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Victory is ours!

on May 15, 2014

“The weapons we fight with are not the weapons of the world. On the contrary, they have divine power to demolish strongholds.” 2 Corinthians 10:4

ImageRunning, at least for me, is one of those activities that require consistent and uncompromising commitment.  If I’m training regularly, I can go out and cover a decent number of miles without too much trouble. When I do, I feel much better afterward.

But if I slack off, or am too busy to stay on a schedule, I suffer. When that happens, the first run out after a break often feels like I’ve never laced up my running shoes before. My heart hurts, I have no energy and feel like I’m dragging a ton of bricks along behind me. It usually takes 2-3 more sessions before I’m feeling decent again. So, I try to stay on a schedule where I’m consistently making the effort to get out and run – it keeps me on track and committed.

Life, too, can get us off our path and our walk with God. Don’t get me wrong. He’s always there, willing and able to hold us up, support and comfort us through whatever the circumstance is. It isn’t Him. It’s me. When things get busy or hard, it’s tempting and easy to fall into the traps set by the darkness of this world.

Those traps are like snares that grab a hold of us and won’t let us go. They drag us down, taking our eyes off the One who can help us, and have us focused on the things of this Earth. If I let just a little doubt, unbelief or fear slip into my thinking, it bubbles and grows into a much bigger force to be reckoned with. Before long, it can be all-consuming and cause me to stumble.

As Christians, we have to be vigilant. We are constantly under attack. If the enemy can cause us to slip, or shift our gaze, he gets a stronghold on us. From there, he seeks to destroy us. Friends, don’t give him that power. Draw the line in the sand, cry out to God and hold firm. God has already won this battle. Often, I forget to remember this fact. Do you?

I heard a preacher talking about this subject. His comment was stunning in its reality. He reminded his listeners that that we do not fight for victory, we fight from victory. God has already conquered the evil of this world. I, we, need to learn how to stand in that victory and let it drive me, us, forward without compromise!

Victory is already ours, my friends.  

 

One response to “Victory is ours!

  1. Dan says:

    I have been through that all consuming feeling recently (about 5 months actually). Its so easy to get caught up with our own feelings of defeat and despair. They say if you want to know what God holds dearest, just look at what the evil one attacks most ferociously . I’m just starting to refocus on the very good point you made. He already won the battle for us, we need not despair, only persevere. Thanks for the help Patti! Love to you and your family, Dan

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

