For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Lessons from a duck

on March 6, 2014

“…may he equip you with all you need for doing his will. May he produce in you, the power of Jesus Christ, every good thing that is pleasing to him. All glory to him forever and ever! Amen.” Hebrews 13:21 (NIV)

Walking along the beach, I noticed a creature that appeared to be struggling on the shoreline. As I got closer, to it, I realized it was a duck. His feet were battling with the heavy, wet sand and he would just get a few steps forward when a wave would come along and pull the sand out from underneath him, sending him tumbling and once again, scrambling to regain his footing.

ImageEventually, a big enough wave came in that he was able to get pulled out with the water. I watched as he surrendered to new environment and quickly settled into a comfortable position. His webbed feet easily passed through the water, gaining speed as he got out further into the calmer waters offshore.

Finally, he was in his element.

Don’t we do that, too? We struggle along in an environment that doesn’t fit with our makeup and we barely seem to gain any ground before some new challenge knocks us off our feet and sends us scrambling once more.

That’s not God’s plan. We were never meant to be in certain situations. We were never meant to force things. We were meant to find our path and get in line with His purposes.

For years, I struggled with questions of where I was supposed to be and what I was supposed to do. I often forced situations, hoping and praying those would be “it.” Of course, they weren’t. My attempts to dictate my path according to my designs were out of sync with God’s. My fears kept me from submitting to His greater purposes because I knew I’d have to surrender.

But a funny thing happened along the way. Several years ago, I sat on that same beach where I saw the duck. I begged God for direction and purpose. He whispered into my soul and set me on a path that I long dreamed about, but never had the courage to pursue. My so-called safe routes were more like trying to fit a square peg into a round hole – they were never going to work. By submitting, and allowing God to replace my fears with His equipping, He has opened up a new path.

When I let God really work in me, I can do the work he has set aside for me to do. It’s not always easy – He never said it would be. But, like that duck in the water, when the waves come, my footing is set where it needs to be, allowing me to navigate the rough waters with God as my guide.

Finally, I’m in my element.

4 responses to “Lessons from a duck

  1. angie says:

    I love this!! yours is the only blog that I subscribe to because God speaks to my spirit through you! Praise Jesus that you follow HIS path!

  2. Angie says:

    Oh, this speaks such a reminder to my heart. Fear has become my biggest enemy. God has been speaking to my heart and giving me a direction to follow. But moving forward and doing something I have never done has raised fears I was not aware of. God has blessing he is waiting to give me. I just need to move into my new element. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

