For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Never rejected!

on February 9, 2014

“As you come to him, the living Stone—rejected by humans but chosen by God and precious to him—” 1 Peter 2:4 (NIV)

Webster’s dictionary defines rejection – or the root word reject – as to refuse to believe, accept, or consider (something). I would add “or someone” to that definition.

This world is cruel in the way that it is quick to reject. Ideas, beliefs, and especially, people. As a kid growing up, I didn’t always fit in. As you can imagine, this led to rejection plenty of times. Being just a kid, I didn’t realize the impact this was having on my self-esteem. I also didn’t realize how it clouded my judgment and influenced my behavior.

To seek the world’s acceptance is a slippery slope at best. In reality, it leads to extremely poor choices, continuous decline and a spiral of sadness that increases with each decision. There is evidence of it everywhere we look. In our attempts to feel special or chosen, we become the opposite.

Webster’s defines love as a feeling of strong or constant affection for a person. I think that definition is appropriate in human terms. It limits love to “a feeling,” which to me, says it can change, grow or diminish.

ImageGod’s definition of love, I am learning, is much different. The Greek word agape means is selfless, sacrificial, unconditional love. This is the love that God demonstrates. God’s love is total, complete, never changing and not dependent on feeling. That is a much different picture of love.

What the world defines as worthwhile and important pales in God’s economy. By comparison, what God sees as perfect and valued is often rejected by the world. Without even trying, we can twist those ideals up in our hearts and live a life that is filled with pain and hurt rather than the joy and freedom God intends for us. I know. I’ve been there.

Peter writes of the living Stone. Looked upon by the world as worthless, it is cast aside. But what the world defines as useless, God sees as perfect and purposed. And his love for us is demonstrated first, by Christ’s sacrificial death in our place so that we might have eternal life with him. And that sacrifice tells us that we are valued, treasured, and precious.

I don’t know about you, but for me, that realization is like a healing balm for my weary soul. For years, I carried around the guilt and shame of seeking earthly acceptance. Now, I can look at my life and see how I am covered in forgiveness and the love that I so desperately sought in places it could never be found.

Freedom is a word that we can throw around without a full understanding of the meaning. Freedom in Christ has meaning far beyond what I can comprehend, but I am learning more about every day.

I am His. He is mine. That’s the only acceptance I need.

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

