For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

You will protect and deliver

on January 12, 2014

I’ve heard over and over that if you are walking in God’s plan for your life, you can bet there will be trouble. Jesus never promised us that we’d coast into Heaven unscathed. And, really, why should we expect to? He didn’t.

What we can count on is that when we walk with Him, He is there with us, holding us and guiding us along the path. Even when it feels like the world is against you and the attacks are nonstop, we can be assured that our Lord is fighting the battle with and for us.

I’m training for a 15K that I’ll be running in just a few weeks. It is to raise awareness and money to help support the efforts of Abolition International, an organization that helps those trapped in human trafficking. This is a very real and prevalent issue and God has gripped my heart with the message. I cannot sit by and do nothing. Having just begun running three years ago, I have dedicated my training to being part of a team that annually participates in a race to help the cause.

In the two years that I have been part of Team Freedom, the attacks have been many. Last year, weeks ahead of my first half-marathon, I developed tendinitis and it threatened to sideline me. But, with much prayer and therapy, I was able to press through and complete the race. I couldn’t run for almost six months after.

This year, the attacks have been multi-faceted. I’ve had terrible time constraints, bad weather, funding challenges and more. Yesterday, I had to log a long training run. If you’ve trained for a distance race, you know that each week, you are adding miles to your training to be prepared for the distance at the end. Since I hadn’t been able to run for so long, yesterday’s six miles was my longest scheduled run in nearly a year.

ImageThe paths I run were scattered with snow, slush and in many places, sheets of ice. I’m a fair-weather runner, so this was hard. But I knew that I had to push through and get it done. I found myself praying and worshiping all through the run, asking for guidance and protection because I knew it was an attack.

It would have been easy to turn around and go home, neglecting the training and playing it safe. But that is just what the enemy wants us to do. When it gets hard, we have a choice. We can lean on the One who is more than able to help us or we can allow the enemy to distract us from our purpose and back off. Which will it be?

Psalm 138, verses 7 and 8 remind me that I never walk alone, even and especially in times of trouble. The visual of Jesus fighting for me with one hand, and holding me up with the other is a picture of love.

Psalm 138:7-8 The Message (MSG)

7-8 When I walk into the thick of trouble,
keep me alive in the angry turmoil.
With one hand
strike my foes,
With your other hand
save me.
Finish what you started in me, God.
Your love is eternal—don’t quit on me now.

He will never quit on us. I know for me, I pray I never quit on him. Are you with me?

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

