For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

“Distress that drives us to God does that. It turns us around. It gets us back in the way of salvation. We never regret that kind of pain. But those who let distress drive them away from God are full of regrets, end up on a deathbed of regrets…

on November 20, 2013

…And now, isn’t it wonderful all the ways in which this distress has goaded you closer to God? You’re more alive, more concerned, more sensitive, more reverent, more human, more passionate, more responsible. Looked at from any angle, you’ve come out of this with purity of heart. And that is what I was hoping for in the first place when I wrote the letter. My primary concern was not for the one who did the wrong or even the one wronged, but for you—that you would realize and act upon the deep, deep ties between us before God. That’s what happened—and we felt just great.” 2 Corinthians 7:10-13 (MSG)

I have heard that God will leave us in a desert in order for us to learn or realize where we need to make a change.

As someone who has taken up residence in the desert of unemployment for nearly three years, I was really starting to wonder what the lesson was. Because I figured out pretty quickly how hard it was. It wasn’t much longer before our resources ran out and we had to lean on Him for everything. I then learned that while I love working independently, I do miss the camaraderie of an office and a team. I know that I do not like to sell, especially myself. It just feels cheesy and unnatural to me.

Okay, so I keep looking around at others, seeing friends and acquaintances get jobs I’ve applied for, and not even had an interview. I work super hard and diligently for clients, only to have budgets cut or revenues decline to the point that my contract is released.

Gee, God, what is all this?

So one Friday morning, I saw a job that I thought I would like. For at least the 100th time, I blew up my résumé and wrote an entirely different cover letter for the position.

And then I laced up my running shoes and headed out. I was running along, praying and asked God yet again about my lack of employment. He responded by bringing to mind some times when I wasn’t entirely faithful with the jobs he had provided in the past. He brought specific instances to mind that I never realized were not honoring to Him. As I ran along, my heart hurt, and I confessed that I had made mistakes for which I was truly sorry. I felt so much better!

The next Monday, I received a request for an interview. Since then, I’ve picked up work from two clients, and been contacted for at least three other possible positions.

Additionally, I finally took the step forward in ministry and spoke at a retreat for my church. And you know what? God blessed that step in ways I could have never imagined.

It’s like when a boat is stuck on a sandbar. There’s something holding it up and making it impossible for it to move along in the water. But then, when the tide turns, the boat is freed up and can move along.

Perhaps, that is what God is doing with me. Maybe I needed the gifts of conviction, repentance and obedience to coincide at once to turn the tide.

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

