For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

“If you’ve gotten anything at all out of following Christ, if his love has made any difference in your life, if being in a community of the Spirit means anything to you, if you have a heart, if you care— then do me a favor: Agree with each other, love each other, be deep-spirited friends. Don’t push your way to the front; don’t sweet-talk your way to the top. Put yourself aside, and help others get ahead. Don’t be obsessed with getting your own advantage. Forget yourselves long enough to lend a helping hand.” Philippians 2:1-4 (MSG)

on September 29, 2013

The state of Colorado, where I live, recently suffered from a devastating 1,000-year flood event. We thought we had weathered the storms safely when the water in the back yard subsided, and stayed far away from our house. About a week after the storms, my daughter went into the spare bedroom in our basement and made an unsettling discovery. We had not escaped unscathed. We had a leak in that room that had let in enough water to flood it and, since we hadn’t noticed it when the storms hit, mold had begun to grow on the walls. With my husband out of town on business, I began cleaning it out and up, hoping to save as much of the room as we could.

My church has been heavily involved in helping those affected, many have lost their homes, all their possessions and much more. It will take months, if not years, to recover. In giving an update in service, our pastor asked those impacted by damage from the flood to raise their hands. I put mine up about halfway, thinking our damage is so minor compared to so many others.

As service ended and I turned to gather my things, I felt a tap on my shoulder. The couple sitting behind me, whom I had never met, said they saw me raise my hand and wanted to know what had happened. As I shared, they immediately asked what they could help with. What did I need? I was stunned and a little shocked. I’ve never met these people, yet they were willing to step into my mess and help me. This is living Jesus’ command.

I’m so used to having to do things by and for myself, that asking for or receiving help is tough. But, hearing this message from Philippians makes me realize that not only are we commanded to love others and help, but we should not be too proud to accept help when it is offered. That is a lesson I need to learn.

In a conversation with my Pastor about our flood impact, he also offered help – teams of volunteers are going into the community to help those affected by the floods. Getting lives back on track and helping to be a light in the lives of others is being lived out daily in our church family.

As I fought tears and stammered to answer the gracious couple behind me, I thanked them and told them about the conversation with my Pastor. They said they’d be there if I needed them. Oh that we would all learn from their selfless offer to give of themselves to someone in need!

 

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

