For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

“Watch closely: I am preparing something new; it’s happening now, even as I speak, and you’re about to see it. I am preparing a way through the desert; Waters will flow where there had been none.” Isaiah 43:19 The Voice

on September 12, 2013

“I will give you hidden treasures and wealth tucked away in secret places; I will reveal them to you. Then you will know that I am the Eternal, the God of Israel, who calls you by name.” Isaiah 45:3 The Voice

“Even though everything inside of you is telling you to do this or do that, I urge you to take a day and spend it with Him.”

My friend and I were talking yet again about the stresses of our family’s plight. My lack of work and income and our dwindling resources. I mentioned I wanted to finish working on my business website, continue looking for jobs, expand my reach with contacts, etc. Yet she spoke of letting it all go for a day and to be still and seek the Lord.

When it doesn’t look like it’s supposed to, that’s when you should seek Him more, she said. It’s counter-intuitive to how we are programmed as humans, yet it is exactly what the Bible tells us to do. Seek Him first above all else. She promised me that the time I spent with Him would be more of a blessing than I could imagine. That He longs for us to take that time with Him.

So, I took a day, curled up with my Bible and journal, and prayed. As I read through Scripture, two passages in Isaiah stood out. God’s message to me was that He was indeed working on my behalf, even though I couldn’t see it. He promised He is making a way. He also made sure that I realize that only He can be the one to help me.

I need a God-sized miracle and in a manner of days, He started one. My first miracle arrived in the mail with a note and the verse Acts 4:32 in it. Acts 4:32 says, “All the believers were united in heart and mind. And they felt that what they owned was not their own, so they shared everything they had.”

I received a great deal of help and am so grateful for a friend who lives as though they are Jesus with skin on and holds loosely to their resources because they know they are the Lord’s. Our troubles are far from over, but I will choose thankfulness and trust, knowing that He is in charge of it all and He will be the One to bring us through these times.

I’m also reminded that we should always have a cheerful, giving heart, even when we are stretched. So we continue to make blessing bags and pray for opportunities to be a light in the dark. Life is hard. In a community of believers, we must encourage one another and look for ways to help others see Jesus. It’s not an option, it was His command to us.

As a recipient of abundant blessing, I choose to be joyful and continue to seek Him as we step forward in trust and faith.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

