For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

“This is my command—be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9 (NLT)

on August 27, 2013

For more than seven months, I’ve been plagued with a nagging hip injury that developed during training for a half marathon I ran in last February. I tried to do the right thing, seeing several medical professionals to try and diagnose/treat whatever it was. After not getting definitive answers, I tried chiropractic care, rest and physical therapy. When none of them worked to any degree of relief, I decided to go back to the orthopedic surgeon, seeking more invasive diagnosis options.
 
Somewhere in this process, God started working on my heart about a bold step in ministry. He is pressing me in an area that is uncomfortable, but He’s being Him about it. He’s leaving no doubt this is any area He not only can redeem, but use to impact a future generation. He’s also giving me yet another area to trust Him in.
 
Knowing this process will require healing, faith, honesty, and dedication to putting something together that I still don’t have direction on, I’m believing that God is building. And building takes time and patience. He’s also made it clear it requires my presence.

Which takes me back to my hip problem.
 
Making the 45-minute drive to the surgeon’s office gave me lots of time to think and pray. Unfortunately, it was also a time that enemy used to try and thwart the directions God was showing me. He planted that seed of fear in my head, tossing around thoughts of tumors and serious issues with all kinds of implications. As those thoughts jostled for recognition in my head, the Lord stepped in. I clearly heard Him ask me a question. Why would I ask you to move forward with this ministry if you weren’t going to be here to do it? Trust me in this and in everything.
 
Later that week, my pastor reminded me of Joshua 1:9 and I knew God was speaking again. He will never leave or forsake me. Even if I face uncertainty or illness or whatever else life can throw at me, He is still working it all for good.
 
I’m thankful and happy to say that my hip is affected with tendinitis. Unpleasant, but not fatal and definitely treatable. He has plans that are good and for His purpose, and this particular setback will not stop them.

What plans does He have for you and are you letting fear deprive you of your destiny? Let’s step forward boldly together, okay?

 

2 responses to ““This is my command—be strong and courageous! Do not be afraid or discouraged. For the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.” Joshua 1:9 (NLT)

  1. L. says:

    I think God is speaking to me through this website that I just ” discovered” literally right now.
    I am young and have a hip replacement, my spouse is self employed and I connected to your story. I am concerned with fear about my career. Do I leave a job with a steady paycheque ( i am content here but know its time to move forward) . There are fears going on in my head or do I take the leap of faith and jump in to the unknown and do what God has prepared me to do -to work in a field that I love and will make a very good income with benefits? It will be unstable at the beginning and I will be waiting for phone calls but i know the calls will come.

    Why is it so hard to listen to God? Why is it so hard to take that leap of faith???

    • pattihazlett says:

      I’m so blessed that you found and decided to follow my blog. I wish I knew the answer to your question! I struggle with this myself all the time. Knowing the steps He wants us to take and actually taking them can be two totally different things. I try to look back on all the times He’s been SO faithful in so many things and remind myself that He isn’t going to stop that now just because I’m nervous or scared. He’s got it under control. I pray we both learn to live in that truth!

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

