For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

“These things add up. Every one of us needs to pray; when all hell breaks loose and the dam bursts we’ll be on high ground, untouched.” Psalm 32:6 The Message

on July 29, 2013

I pray for more courage. Why is it that when I desperately want to reach out to someone and tell them the Good News of salvation, I tense up and something puts a clamp on my lips? Sadly, this doesn’t happen with strangers or people I have a casual relationship with. No, it tends to happen when I am with people I have known for many years, people who have known me through all my life stages. People who knew me before I knew Jesus.

Reading this verse scares me to death when I think about people I care deeply for, knowing they may be swept up in those “floodwaters of judgment (NLT).” There is forgiveness, grace and healing for anyone who takes that step of faith, acknowledges their sin, and turns from it. But that is a hard decision and once it is made, the enemy will use everything you ever did to try and get you to slip. This I know first-hand.

However.

Even though I may slip and make mistakes, succumb to my sinful nature and do or say things that I immediately regret, the difference is that I can confess those sins and accept forgiveness, knowing that the next time I am tempted, there will be a way out. I just need to be mindful and look for it, relying on the Holy Spirit to lead, not me.

That may be the biggest challenge in my struggle to share this message with friends and family who have known me the longest. They know many of my sins and mistakes. They see me slip and maybe think, “well, I guess she really isn’t any different now.” All I can say is that is completely untrue. Looking back on the years since I was saved, I can track mountainous changes. I am joyful, trusting and have faith in trials that would have surely taken me down before.

No, the enemy will not win this battle. Because my story isn’t finished yet. And, He will continue to present those opportunities to share my faith and share His salvation – available to anyone who will accept it.

So, if you are one of those people in my life, and you’re reading this, please, search your heart. Ask Him into your heart and accept His free gift of paying the ultimate price for YOU long before you were born. Because there is grace and forgiveness for you – as there was for me. That gift, the gift of eternal salvation, is more important than jobs, finances, investments, heartaches, illness, or any other aspect of this life that we place importance upon.

May we turn away from wickedness and experience the beauty of this passage:

“Many sorrows come to the wicked, but unfailing love surrounds those who trust the Lord.
 So rejoice in the Lord and be glad, all you who obey him! Shout for joy, all you whose hearts are pure!”
Psalm 32:10-11 (NLT)

 

One response to ““These things add up. Every one of us needs to pray; when all hell breaks loose and the dam bursts we’ll be on high ground, untouched.” Psalm 32:6 The Message

  1. Dan says:

    Dear Patti,

    Thanks for another heartfelt post. For years I have struggled with the same feelings about sharing the good news about Jesus Christ. I consider myself, an amateur apologist(very amateur). I have also found that the hardest people to share the faith with is family and friends. But I can tell you for certain that your very good words and the example of how you live your life, is a wonderful witness, and brings many people to Christ(even though you may not be directly aware of it). You are an example of 1 Peter 3:15.

    May our Heavenly Father continue to richly bless you and your beautiful family.

    In Christ,

    Cousin Dan

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

