For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Let me hear of your unfailing love each morning, for I am trusting you. Show me where to walk, for I give myself to you. (Psalms 143:8 NLT)

on June 12, 2013

Change is hard. Sometimes, extremely hard.

Recently, our family, and many families in our circle have experienced big changes. Some have been positive and some have been rather challenging. We’ve said goodbye to loved ones, learned of heartaches, taken huge steps forward in life plans and experienced the unexpected departure of a loving and growth-filled gathering spot.

I’m generally a flexible person who can adapt relatively easily during times of change. But, even for me, some of the events of the recent past have rattled me a bit. People and places that we have poured ourselves into are in a position where we need to hold loosely and fight the urge to cling and tighten our grip on them.

If the past few years have taught me anything, it’s that I cannot take anything for granted. None of “this” is guaranteed and the one thing I have that is constant and unchanging is the Lord.

I need to remind myself that every day I have a choice. I can submit and accept His leading, express my faith with a trusting heart and walk daily where He shows me to go – without question.

Some days that’s not a hard thing. Other days, my flesh fights it with all the energy it can muster. Especially when people and things I love are seemingly taken away without warning and my ability to understand is spotty at best.

But, that’s when the true reality of the faith I profess can be seen. When I accept what I don’t understand and profess my trust under the most trying of circumstances, I open myself up for growth and closeness with the One who created me more than I ever could under perfect conditions.

Every morning, with the first conscious breath of the day, I’m reminded that He gave me another day for a purpose. I can rebel and fight or I can relax and trust in His love and leading. The choice is mine.

Some days, I literally have to verbally commit, thinking it isn’t enough, because the challenges are great. But when I do, I am filled with a peace that is only from Him.

As I sift through the emotions and fallout of all the change, I can truthfully say that I believe His plans are good. I know that the walk ahead may be on a narrow road, but in the end, the blessing will be worth every step I take in faith.

2 responses to “Let me hear of your unfailing love each morning, for I am trusting you. Show me where to walk, for I give myself to you. (Psalms 143:8 NLT)

  1. Barb Debruyne says:

    I have learned that it is not the test but the journey and how we take that journey, my personal prayer is I can take it knowing I am obeying. We have done several bible studies on obeying it is now time for me to put it into practice this will check my true devotion and trust. I know this is harder than we want it has happened to me 3 times and I should be a old hand at it but I am shaken by it each time and now I trust again and know something is in store for all of us and it will be wonderful.

  2. Krista says:

    Too true, Barb, and Patti. God promises in His word that he works for the good of those who love Him (Romans 8:28). We never choose to grow through pain, but in pain and change we are forced to make choices that can grow us if we allow it.

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

