For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

“Let everything that breathes sing praises to the LORD! Praise the LORD!” Psalm 150:6

on May 3, 2013

Six months of the year, my husband makes a living as a hunting guide. This translates to us having dogs, several dogs, actually. They live a pretty cushy life in indoor/outdoor kennels behind our house. Several times a day, they like to exercise their lungs by rousing one anther into a chorus of howling. Working from home, I’m privy to the show daily.

My daughter happened to be home from school sick and was lying in bed with the window open, just as the dogs went into the early afternoon howl-fest. Laughing, I commented on how they all crane their necks to the sky when they howl.

“Mom, it looks like they’re all praising God,” she said with a smile.

Instantly the verse from the psalmist came to mind. “Let everything that has breath sing praises to the Lord!” (Ps.150:6 NLT). As I thought about her comment, it occurred to me that maybe she’s right. I told her that the Bible tells us that every creature praises God in its own way, and maybe she was right. They sure seem joyful and in the right posture when they are howling!

As I thought more about it, the word “perspective” kept coming to mind. Perhaps I was looking at the dogs from the wrong perspective.

Perhaps other things as well.

It’s easy to praise God when things are going well, when blessings seem to be flowing and life is humming along.

But, when there are bumps in the road:

  • When things don’t go as I think they should
  • When illness strikes
  • When finances are tough
  • When I feel God is being silent

Am I so readily singing praises then? Sometime, yes. Sometimes, no.

In quiet time, I was asking Jesus about ways to keep Him first throughout my day. When I get busy or am running late, I tend to push Him to the back burner and forget to keep Him at the forefront of everything.

Perspective.

I was reminded that all I need to do to bring Him to His rightful place is to whisper His name.

Jesus.

Breathe in, breathe out.

Jesus.

And there He is, reminding me that He’s never left. That His love is beyond what I could ever imagine. And, that with my breath, I can sing His praises with one beautiful word.

Yes, let everything that has breath praise Him. Starting with me.

4 responses to ““Let everything that breathes sing praises to the LORD! Praise the LORD!” Psalm 150:6

  1. Krista says:

    Needed the reminder today Patti. Thanks!

  2. Dolores Holland says:

    Thank you Patti – that message was just what I needed this particular day. Keep up your inspirational messages – they mean a great deal to me. Much love, Aunt Dorey

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

