For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

“Before you were born, I set you apart and appointed you as my spokesperson to the world.” Jeremiah 1:5

on March 27, 2013

For at least two weeks, I struggled with a writing assignment. The words just weren’t there. It was a simple request. Tell the story of an internal department overhaul and redesign of the intranet site to better align business processes and access to information.

But I just couldn’t get there. I started and restarted and started again more times than I care to admit. Honestly, I began doubting my ability to write anything. And, I faced a looming deadline. The article had to be written.

Looking at the page of a couple hundred poorly written words, I sighed. Tomorrow, I have to tackle this and get it done, I thought.

I retreated to my bedroom and picked up my Bible study materials. Our group is working through a study on discerning God’s voice in our lives. Over the last ten years or so, I’ve had some pretty big ta-da moments where it was completely clear that God was speaking. Where He powerfully led me through major decisions and offered confirmations of definitive direction. I’m so thankful for those moments. But, as our study tells us, those moments are not the norm.

In order to hear His voice and sense His leading, I must consciously tune out all the clutter and focus. Focus on His Word, and meditate on His promises. Oh yea, and shut up. Stop talking to Him and just listen for Him to speak into my heart.

Oh my, that is hard to do. When the clamoring of life gets in the way of quiet moments, I can slip into “get it done” mode so fast if makes my own head spin. And that’s when the enemy has room to work. Because that’s when I get so caught up in the moments and the to-dos that I stop listening and waiting for Him to lead, plowing ahead like a runaway train.

When I try to push forward and do it myself, I get tripped up. I stumble. I lose track of the gifts I’ve been given.

Like writing.

As I finished my study time, I prayed that God would help me clear out the clutter in my mind so that I could hear Him better.

When I woke up the next morning, I prayed again. I earnestly asked Him to guide my day – instead of laundry listing all the things on my list that I wanted His help with, I simply asked Him to lead. And, I shut up. In that devotional time, I came upon Jeremiah 1:5

“Before you were born, I set you apart and appointed you as my spokesperson to the world.”

It was like a whisper of a kiss touching my soul. The quiet voice of God speaking. He was telling me not to doubt, but to let Him lead and the words would come.

Later that morning, I sat at the computer and wrote. Wrote nearly 1,000 words in record time. When I sent it to the client, the response was the confirming gift that only God could give. She praised my writing and ability to give the article the exact tone and flow she had hoped for. I knew the praise belonged to someone else, so I gave it to Him with a heartfelt “thank you.”

 

2 responses to ““Before you were born, I set you apart and appointed you as my spokesperson to the world.” Jeremiah 1:5

  1. I can so relate to this. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

