For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

“These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” —John 16:33 nkjv

on March 13, 2013

Sometimes I wonder if I’m living in an alternative universe. On the surface, there are many things in my and my family’s circumstances that could and should unnerve me. Two self-employed parents. Two nearly pre-teen children playing competitive sports. The need for braces. Mortgage payments, etc. that come from who-knows-where some months.

And yet, I am peaceful.

For the past couple of years, I have been out of the “regularly employed” circles I used to travel in. For two decades, I worked and was striving to climb a ladder that I really didn’t enjoy being on at all. So many times along the way I wondered, what am I doing? God was speaking, but I wasn’t listening. So, instead, He used that time to sharpen skills, teach me to think strategically and independently, and build relationships that would be a benefit long after the jobs I held were gone.

Stepping out with nothing but faith and a computer, I “hung my shingle,” proclaiming myself to be a consultant. Very, very slowly, eventually work began to trickle in. Now, I am fully committed to this venture because God has been so faithful. When I was laid off two years ago, no one could have convinced me that we’d be where we are today.

The other piece of the puzzle is the peace of the puzzle.

I have a peace that is truly unexplainable. Sometimes, I think my family gets concerned by my ability to look at our situation and say “it is very unsure, but I trust that God is guiding us.” His plan for this season of our lives includes the current chaotic situation and pace we keep. I know this, because in all of it, He gives me peace.

The troubles we face may be trying, and even a little scary sometimes. But, with them, there is peace. There is the knowledge that He is never going to leave us there. This will all be part of His story that He is writing through this journey. We should consider ourselves privileged to be a part of it.

That is my peace. Jesus assured me that no matter what challenges I encounter, I can rise above the circumstance to see the grander vision. He has overcome any situation or circumstance I may bump into – and He has done it so that I may have peace.  Yes, that alternative universe may actually be reality. It’s called peace.

He’s offering that same peace to you as well. Are you trusting Him?

2 responses to ““These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” —John 16:33 nkjv

  1. amypboyd says:

    Thank you so much for sharing I really needed to hear these words. Right now I and my family are facing a lot of uncertainty and He is my peace but there are moments I glance away and fear creeps in.

  2. pattihazlett says:

    Well said, Amy. It is tempting and easy to look away and get fixed on the surroundings. I pray you have peace and that His blessing is showered abundantly on you and your family. Thank you for stopping by. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

