For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

“In the same way that you gave me a mission in the world, I give them a mission in the world.” (John 17:18 MSG)

on February 27, 2013

It’s not about me.

On February 24, 2013, I ran my first half-marathon. It wasn’t about being a runner, or getting in shape, or even striving for the accomplishment.

It was to give a voice to someone who doesn’t have one. At least not yet.

ImageTraining for this race took nearly a year. Having never run anything more than three miles, and only mastering that feat a couple years ago, I was nervous about going the distance. But last year, when I heard the stories of those trapped in the bondage of human trafficking, I couldn’t sit by doing nothing. I joined a group who call themselves Team Freedom. Together, we raised money for an organization called Abolition International, which helps with rescue and recovery for those trapped in sexual slavery. Today, there are more than 27 million slaves, more than at any other time in history.

The stories of the bondage are mind-boggling and stomach-turning. However, the stories of recovery and redemption are like sunshine bursting through dark clouds, bright and stunning.

Jesus didn’t offer me salvation to sit with it on a shelf and wait to go to Heaven. He called me to go out into this broken world and make a difference. To get involved. To step outside my comfort zone and do something, anything, whatever it is that He leads me to do.

A year ago, He made it abundantly clear this was a cause, a team that I needed to be involved with. Hearing the stories of those rescued broke my heart and left me sobbing. I knew I had to run this year. For them. For others. He put a dollar figure in my head – the exact amount He wanted me to commit to raising for the organization. Not having a clue how I would raise the money, or train my aging body for a half-marathon, I simply said yes.

A week later, I received an anonymous letter in the mail. It contained a very encouraging note from a reader of my blog. They expressed their sympathy for the financial struggles my family has had since I was laid off two years ago. Their note included a cashier’s check in the exact dollar amount that God had put on my heart to raise for Team Freedom! I was stunned, amazed and humbled that anyone would do something like this for us.

God was making a point. What He calls us to do, He will equip us to do. We need only to accept our mission with a simple “yes.”

2 responses to ““In the same way that you gave me a mission in the world, I give them a mission in the world.” (John 17:18 MSG)

  1. Valentina says:

    Oh my, that is amazing! Thank you so much for sharing that!!

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

