For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

“And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.” Matthew 6:12

on January 22, 2013

Ten years ago, I returned from maternity leave after giving birth to my daughter. I was working in a job leading a regional communications team. After an eight-week leave, I expected to dive right back in.

My employer had other plans. Only a few days after I returned to work, my boss informed me my position had been eliminated and I was out of a job. Well, that was not exactly what I had planned. I was hurt, angry and most of all, scared. We were a dual income family and truly needed both incomes.

While eventually I found another job and financially, we were okay, emotionally, I was not. Physically, I moved on, but what I carried and buried left me very much not okay. And the funny thing is, I didn’t even realize it until recently.

ImageSitting in church listening to my pastor talk, his focus was on forgiveness. As we studied The Lord’s Prayer, he was discussing Matthew 6:12, “And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.” He asked us to think about those areas in our own lives where we needed to forgive.

I was thinking, well, I’ve forgiven and released a lot of the strongholds in my life. I had forgiven wrongs, hurts, choices of others, situations. Yep, I thought, I was doing fine.

I thought I had dealt with that particular job situation, too. I had forgiven my boss, his boss and the HR folks who came across as cold and uncaring. But that morning, I realized there was more to it. There were people and situations that I had chosen to bury and harbor resentment towards. People whose loyalties were elsewhere and whose actions, like a stab in the back, contributed to the decision. Like a punch in the stomach I realized, I have not forgiven and I need to.

So, as I sat there replaying events and remembering feelings, I asked the Holy Spirit to help. Because surely, on my own and in my own strength, I am not capable of forgiving these debtors as Jesus commanded. And, surely, I do not want to harbor these feelings any longer, because I want forgiveness for my own transgressions. How can I expect that if I’m not willing to extend the same grace?

Yes, only through the power of the Holy Spirit in me is this possible. There will be some pain. There will be some angst. But in the end, there will be forgiveness. And then, I will completely and wholly move on.

 

2 responses to ““And forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.” Matthew 6:12

  1. marcela luna says:

    This is really nicely written. Forgiveness is one of our biggest gifts – it not only releases a big load off our backs, but also allows us to share God’s love in our lives. Praise Him!

  2. pattihazlett says:

    Marcela, thank you for commenting! I’m so glad you were blessed by this post!

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

