For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13

on January 8, 2013

Peace. Just saying the word has a tendency to relax me. Late in 2012, I began asking the Lord to give me a word for 2013. The answer was subtle. I bumped into the word “peace” a few times, times when it seemed like that was response or attitude I needed to have in a particular situation. I asked, “Lord, is this the word you want me to focus on this year?” Not getting a specific answer, I kept on going. But again, I ran into “peace.”

Soon enough, it started to feel like it wanted to befriend me. I know that sounds weird, but as many times as I ran across its path, I started to realize that, yes, “peace” and I were bound to hang out together in 2013.

Understand, I am not typically a peaceful person. Yes, I am a peace-maker, someone who loathes confrontation and cannot wait to get out of uncomfortable situations. But, that isn’t biblical peace. John McArthur writes “The biblical concept of peace does not focus on the absence of trouble. Biblical peace is unrelated to circumstances; it is a goodness of life that is not touched by what happens on the outside. You may be in the midst of great trials and still have biblical peace.”

This is the peace I long to have in my heart. This is the peace that I can only get from a devoted, daily deluge of the Holy Spirit. This is the peace that comes through faith and complete trust.

Paul’s words to the Romans resonated in my heart and the visual of overflow was exactly what I am praying for in my own life. As I mentioned, I’m not typically a peaceful person. I can let the stuff of life get to me, stressing me and wearing on my patience. Times like these, I find myself with a short fuse, definitely not overflowing peace despite my circumstances.

More time seeking Him. More time seeking His presence. More time praying for His peace to fill me and overflow into my daily life.

This is the peace I seek this year.

How about you? What are you seeking this year?

 Citation:

http://www.gty.org/resources/positions/p21/the-gift-of-peace

4 responses to ““May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13

  1. Resolve in faith. 🙂
    Love the image of peace wanting to “befriend you”. Awesome.

  2. Dan says:

    Dearest Cousin,

    Thank you for your very good words. It helped me to refocus on a theme/word that I am trying to concentrate on for this year, and that word is, “Faith”. I found 1 Peter 1: 6-9 as a good starting point. Thanks again, Dan

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

