For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

on December 17, 2012

crossWe all like to feel safe. I know I do. There’s a sense of security in thinking that since the doors are all locked and we’re all snuggled into our beds, we are…safe. When we all buckle up and the car is full of gas and equipped for all weather conditions, we think we are…safe.

The truth is, safety is fleeting. This world is full of evil and wrong choices. So our safety – here – is always compromised.

That truth came to a shattering reality with the terrible tragedy that unfolded at Sandy Hook Elementary School. We send our kids to a building full of caring teachers and administrators and believe they are…safe.

We just never fully know that this is completely true.

That day, I had dropped off my 9-year-old at school and headed to the mall to finish Christmas shopping. I sat in my car in the parking lot with my mouth hung open in horror, watching news texts come through with the heart-wrenching details. I started to weep. It took every fiber of my being NOT to drive back to her school and pick her up, then head to middle school and get my son. EVERY fiber.

I felt a stirring in my heart, they are mine. I am in control.

I knew it was Jesus.

As the events unfolded and I struggled, and continue to struggle, to understand any sense of clarity on those senseless, tragic events, I kept getting the feeling that safety was something I needed a better grip on.

I have to change my perception of safety. The real truth is, outside of Heaven, there is no true safety. Everything can change in the blink of an eye.

However.

When I fix my eyes on the eternal picture, true safety comes into focus. Knowing that whatever happens to us in this life, there is a welcoming and perfect reality in Heaven that is forever painless, peaceful, and…safe. There, evil is crushed and Jesus is triumphant. There, nothing can take us away from Him. There, no tears will fall and no hearts will be broken. There, only paradise and praise.

When I was finally able to hold my children, I wept. Wept knowing there are too many parents in this world who aren’t able to kiss their children goodnight or tell them how much they love them, or try to make them feel, safe. But, I reassured my children, and myself, that with Jesus, all those children are truly, safe. More safe than I could ever make them.

As I look up at the wall above my computer, the words of Jeremiah 29:11 beckon me. “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Those words aren’t just for our existence here. This life is but a fraction of eternity. Because of His Word, I have to believe that no matter what we endure here on Earth, we will be immeasurably overjoyed in Heaven.

It doesn’t take away the pain of this life. But, it gives us a perspective and a hope that is beyond understanding.

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

