For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

“and said: …The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away; may the name of the LORD be praised.” Job 1:21

on October 22, 2012

There has been an abundance of sorrow lately. It seems like every time I turn on the news, I hear of another tragedy, devastating families and leaving communities asking “why?”

And, just last week, the news was a member of my own family. A distant relative, but a painful tragedy nonetheless. It was the latest in a series of conversations in our house where I don’t have answers for my kids’ questions and I ask God the same questions they are asking me.

The truth is, sometimes, there aren’t any answers. At least not ones that will button it up and help you heal, move forward and keep going. And that has to be alright sometimes. I have to remind myself over and over that there are some answers I won’t get until I get to Heaven. There are plans and purposes that won’t be revealed until we meet Jesus face to face. Because only then will we be able to begin to grasp the bigger picture of God’s plan.

I bumped into this passage in Job in my devotional time. It cut straight to the core of how I am to respond in these situations, whether they are my personal tragedies or not. Job had just lost absolutely everything – his family, his wealth, his possessions – and yet there he was, still able to bless his God.

It is honestly hard to grasp the capacity to do just that, bless God in the midst of unimaginable pain. But that’s just what he did. He didn’t hide his grief or mask his pain – the Bible says he tore his robe and shaved his head – symbols of grief. He expressed his sorrow and still mustered up the strength to profess his faith in God.

I have the tendency to grasp those people and things I love too tightly. My children, my “things” and my sense of control. That’s not how I’m supposed to be. Those things, and everything else I am given, are blessings – gifts from God. And those gifts are not mine. They are to be tended to, cared for and held with a loose grip because at any time, any of them can be taken away.

I can’t say how I would react if I were in the situation of my family member or any of those families on television. I can say that I’m trying to treasure every moment I can with the blessings in life. Honestly, that’s not always something I am successful at doing. But, if we pray and ask the Holy Spirit to guide us in our days with a spirit of gratitude, imagine how much better every day could be?

When I put my kids to bed at night, I tell them way too many times (for their liking) how very much I love them. It’s important for them to hear that often. Even more important, I like to remind them that as much as I love them, there is one who loves them even more than I ever could. And He is with them every moment of every day.

May the name of the Lord be praised.

 

 

One response to ““and said: …The LORD gave and the LORD has taken away; may the name of the LORD be praised.” Job 1:21

  1. Edward Gi says:

    1 Thessalonians 5:16 Rejoice always, 17pray constantly, 18give thanks in everything; for this is the will of God for you in Christ Jesus.
    Another encouraging post., please read my new post at
    http://fanningtheflickeringflame.blogspot.com/ and share your comments, thanks in advance

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

