For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

“Come near to God and he will come near to you. Wash your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.” James 4:8

on October 3, 2012

Someone commented to me that they wish they were as close to Jesus as I am. I have to say, to be completely honest, I say those words myself when I’m around some of my friends. People whose insight and teachings bless me with wisdom and knowledge about much of what I read in the Bible and how to apply it to life.

I believe we all have varying degrees of closeness. Think about it.

In my own experience, there are times when I feel intimately close to Jesus, I can almost feel His presence alongside me. And, there are times when I wonder where are you Lord? And again, in my experience, the issue isn’t God, the issue is me.

  • I pull away
  • I choose to not open my Bible
  • I don’t stop to pray
  • I believe I can manage in my own strength

 The key to any relationship’s success is giving it time and attention – making it a priority. It’s the same thing with our relationship to Jesus. It needs to be a priority or we will be the one to feel the void between us.

Jesus’ brother James said “come near to God and he will come near to you (James 4:8). He is there, but it takes an action on our part to initiate the nearness. Jesus doesn’t want us to be a bunch of mindless robots who can’t think or make decisions for ourselves. He doesn’t want us clogged up in our thinking by a bunch of rules and requirements that have nothing to do with our salvation.

 

He wants us.

 

Plain and simple. He loved you and me enough to willingly die on a cross to pay for our sins and offer us eternal salvation. Have you truly accepted that free and fulfilled gift?

 

I do it, we all do it. We get so caught up in the messes and priorities of this world that we pull away from the only true priority – Jesus. If I could wake up every day and pray, asking Him to stay close, to seek His will, to look for opportunities to be like Him so that someone else might seek Him, just think how different life would be!

 

The second part of James 4:8 was confusing to me. Until I read different translations of the Bible. Look at how it is written in The Message:

“So let God work his will in you. Yell a loud no to the Devil and watch him scamper. Say a quiet yes to God and he’ll be there in no time. Quit dabbling in sin. Purify your inner life. Quit playing the field. Hit bottom, and cry your eyes out. The fun and games are over. Get serious, really serious. Get down on your knees before the Master; it’s the only way you’ll get on your feet.” James 4:7-10

 

It really doesn’t get much clearer than that, does it? Draw near to God. It’s the only way.

One response to ““Come near to God and he will come near to you. Wash your hands, you sinners, and purify your hearts, you double-minded.” James 4:8

  1. There are so many ebbs and flows to my relationship with God. Times I walk in my own strength… times I turn away in fear… times I look to others instead of Him. I’m always the reason for the disconnect. Thank you for this call to draw near. Need that reminder…

Leave a Reply

Spending Smarter in South Florida

Shopping and other tips from The Salvation Army Family Stores in Broward County.

Netchicks Marketing

Netchicks GET THINGS DONE!

For Such A Time As This

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Denver PR Blog

Denver Public Relations Blog

The Lazy Christian

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Jesus & My Orange Juice

Maximizing everyday moments to glorify God

Keeping it Personal

Discover Truth. Embrace Love. Experience Joy.

